A+ A A-

Bradford’s Computing Curriculum

The Bradford Scheme of Work

Over the summer break the Curriculum Innovation team have been further developing the Computing Curriculum. The previous versions of the curriculum had been split into 7 strands and there were a large number of objectives. Many teachers found it difficult to teach all the strands and objectives for their year group especially with the pressures of teaching English, Maths and all the other areas of the currciulum.

After listening to feedback from teaching staff and SLTs we decided to streamline the curriculum and reduce the number of strands and learning objectives that each year group had to cover. As a result there are now 5 strands (Computer Science, Data Handling, Media, (e)Safeguarding and Information Literacy) as well as a curriculum designed for EYFS settings.We have hundreds of resources, links, videos and tutorials to help you in your teaching of this curriculum.




The Computing Curriculum has been split into three specific aspects. These aspects are Digital Literacy, Computer Science and Applying Technology. Two of the aspects are broken down into strands. The Digital Literacy strand includes Information Literacy and (e)Safeguarding. The Computer Science aspect is a strand in itself and the Applying Technology aspect includes Media and Data Handling.



Digital Literacy has 2 strands:
Information Literacy-This strand focusses on searching for information and checking it's accuracy and plausibilbilty
(e)Safeguarding- This strand is focussed on teaching pupils to communicate safely and respectfully online as well as protecting themselves and others from online threats. This strand could be easily incorporated into your school's PHSCE/SEAL curriculum.
Computer Science is 1 strand.

Applying Technology includes 2 strands:
Data Handling.